Board Members

HBIDA’s working board is made up of educators, parents, diagnosticians, dyslexia therapists, advocates, physicians and others who are committed to promoting literacy throughout our city and surrounding communities.

HBIDA holds elections each November to add new and returning members to its board. Each member’s term lasts three years, and our members serve on various committees along with our Advisory Council Members.

The Board Members for 2017:

Mary Yarus, M.Ed., LDT, CALT, President
Anson J. Koshy, M.D., MBE, Vice-President
Karen Priputen, CPA, Treasurer
Emily Rommel, M.Ed., CALT, Secretary

Judith Arceneaux, M.A., CCC
Amir Bar, M.S.
Debbie Etheridge M.Ed.
Shonda Guthrie, M.Ed., LDT, CALT
Jessica Harris, LDT, CALT
Jennifer Luftop, M.Ed., LDT, CALT
Deborah G. Meinwald, M.Ed., LDT, CALT
Elisabeth Rush, M.Ed., LDT, CALT
Emily Waltmon M.Ed.
Sid (Trey) Weiss
Jill Wiseman M.A., LPC

Advisory Council

Michelle Beard, Ph.D.
Ashlee Bixby, M.Ed. LPCi
Lyle Cadenhead, Ph.D., LSSP, LPC
Wendy Leer Campbell
Ana Carrasco
Marian Cisarik, LDT, CALT
Carter Crain, J.D.
Mary Durheim
Annette Goldstein
Allison Griffiths, CALT
Suz Hal, CALT
Mike Hawkins, MS, LPC
Kim Jameson, M.Ed., LDT, CALT
Janet Lenhart, LDT, CALT
Cathy Lorino
Mary North
Deborah Pfeiffer-Traum, MSW, LDT, CALT
Leeann Rudolph, M.Ed.
Laura Speights
Sabine Triplett
Carole Wills

Regional Group – Golden Triangle Representative
Jeanette Davis, LDT, CALT

Regional Group – Brazos Valley Representative
Heather Sherman, M.Ed.

Houston Branch National IDA Board Members
Suzanne Carreker, Ph.D., LDT, CALT, QI
Carole Wills

Regional Representative of the Western Region
Jim Carter, M.A., CCC-SLP

Regional Group

There are two regional groups that are a part of HBIDA and share our objectives.

Brazos Valley Regional Group of HBIDA (Bryan/College Station)
Heather Sherman, M.Ed., Regional Representative

Golden Triangle Regional Group of HBIDA (Beaumont/Port Arthur/Orange)
Jeanette Davis, Regional Representative